Développer plus rapidement des produits pétroliers et gaziers avec SIMULIA

By adding SIMULIA Structural Performance Engineer analysis software to its SOLIDWORKS product development implementation, InFocus Energy Services has acquired the simulation power and efficiency that it needs to consistently develop innovative, effective downhole products for the oil and gas industry more quickly and affordably.

InFocus Energy Services, Inc. est une entreprise canadienne innovatrice spécialisée dans le développement de produits de fond de puits axés sur les solutions pour l'industrie pétrolière et gazière. Engagée dans le développement de produits de forage et d'achèvement de puits innovants et de haute performance, InFocus est avant tout une entreprise de recherche et développement qui concède des licences pour sa technologie et ses produits à des partenaires stratégiques.

Pour rester à la pointe de l'industrie pétrolière et gazière, il faut disposer d'outils de conception et d'ingénierie robustes. C'est pourquoi la société utilise la suite intégrée de développement de produits SOLIDWORKS® 3D. Selon le fondateur/directeur Allan Pearson, InFocus utilise les outils SOLIDWORKS depuis le début car les solutions intégrées offrent la puissance, l'agilité et la flexibilité dont l'entreprise a besoin pour développer en permanence des produits innovants. "SOLIDWORKS est au cœur de notre groupe d'ingénierie ", note M. Pearson. " C'est la base de tout ce que nous faisons : modélisation, simulation, analyse des flux, rendus. Nous avons rarement besoin de nous appuyer sur d'autres produits. "

Concentrée sur le développement de produits pétroliers et gaziers qui ne sont actuellement disponibles nulle part ailleurs, InFocus pousse régulièrement les outils SOLIDWORKS, notamment les solutions de simulation, à leur limite et reste à l'affût des solutions émergentes. " Nous avons utilisé le logiciel SOLIDWORKS Simulation Premium pour certains types d'analyse, mais notre travail implique de plus en plus non seulement des non-linéarités géométriques et matérielles, mais aussi des problèmes de contact complexes ", explique Peter Kjellbotn, ingénieur en mécanique et spécialiste de la simulation.

" Nous avions besoin de plus de puissance de simulation, ainsi que d'une solution qui fonctionne sans problème avec SOLIDWORKS ", poursuit Kjellbotn. " Lorsque nous avons appris que SOLIDWORKS lançait une nouvelle solution de simulation 3DEXPERIENCE® intégrant le solveur SIMULIA® Abaqus, nous nous sommes inscrits au programme Lighthouse afin de pouvoir commencer à utiliser immédiatement le nouveau SIMULIA Structural Simulation Engineer. Dès que nous avons mis la main dessus, nous avons commencé à le tester et à le comparer à des résultats d'essais connus."

Simuler avec précision des contacts délicats et complexes

InFocus a d'abord utilisé SIMULIA Structural Performance Engineer sur la section palier du moteur de forage RE|FLEX Premium HP/HT de la société. La section palier du moteur est une conception propriétaire qui a été développée pour convertir des paramètres de charge extrêmes, y compris un couple de plus de 30 000 pieds-livres, en une action de forage efficace. La conception initiale du système d'entraînement de l'entreprise, qui utilisait des roulements à billes traditionnels, s'est soldée par une défaillance lors des essais lorsque la charge a écrasé les roulements et les faces qui les chargent. SIMULIA Structural Simulation Engineer a prédit l'échec - avec une corrélation précise avec les résultats réels des tests - et a aidé la société à développer une conception meilleure et plus innovante.

Analyse de forage SIMULIA

Analyse de forage SIMULIA

"Grâce à Structural Performance Engineer, nous avons pu évaluer une série d'options géométriques et de matériaux, un processus qui nous a permis d'optimiser rapidement la conception conique et en forme de tonneau des roulements, et de décider du meilleur acier à haute résistance pour la conception", se souvient M. Kjellbotn.

Développer rapidement et à moindre coût un produit unique et innovant

L'expérience de l'utilisation du logiciel SIMULIA Structural Performance Engineer pour développer la partie palier du moteur de forage RE|FLEX Premium est représentative du processus de développement rapide et ciblé dont InFocus a besoin pour introduire les innovations de l'industrie en temps voulu et de manière cohérente. " Nous pouvons développer plus de produits plus rapidement et à moindre coût en utilisant Structural Simulation Engineer ", souligne M. Kjellbotn.

Moteur de forage RE|FLEX Premium HP/HT

Moteur de forage RE|FLEX Premium HP/HT

"Par exemple, pour la section palier du moteur RE|FLEX, si nous avions dû tester physiquement toutes nos options de conception au lieu de les évaluer dans Structural Simulation Engineer, cela aurait pris beaucoup plus de temps et d'argent", explique M. Kjellbotn. "Faire tous ces tests sur un arbre d'entraînement à haute résistance - à un coût de plusieurs milliers de dollars par test - aurait fait exploser le calendrier et le budget. Nous avons économisé des dizaines de milliers de dollars, des mois de temps et des coûts de main-d'œuvre supplémentaires en utilisant Structural Simulation Engineer. Il nous a permis de condenser un processus qui aurait normalement pris des mois en quelques semaines seulement."

Une plus grande agilité et une plus grande flexibilité alimentent la croissance

La mise en œuvre de SIMULIA Structural Performance Engineer fournit à InFocus l'agilité et la flexibilité accrues dont elle a besoin pour continuer à innover et à se développer. "Sortir les produits et les mettre sur le marché plus rapidement est primordial pour nous", déclare M. Pearson. "Structural Simulation Engineer répond à notre objectif de passer de la conception à la réalisation en une semaine. Les besoins de notre entreprise évoluent rapidement, et il est donc extrêmement important pour la poursuite de notre croissance de disposer d'un système agile qui donne des résultats auxquels nous pouvons faire confiance rapidement."

" Comme Structural Simulation Engineer se trouve sur la plate-forme 3DEXPERIENCE dans le cloud et qu'il est entièrement compatible avec nos données de modélisation SOLIDWORKS, il offre des avantages supplémentaires ", ajoute M. Kjellbotn. " Elle est indépendante du matériel, ce qui libère nos postes de travail pour d'autres choses, et utilise les données SOLIDWORKS, ce qui permet de gagner du temps et de l'argent car nous n'avons pas à passer par des protocoles d'importation/exportation fastidieux. La solution stocke également automatiquement les données dans le cloud et prend en charge la collaboration. Avec Structural Simulation Engineer, nous ne sommes limités que par notre imagination."

Solution en vedette

Travaux 3DEXPERIENCE

Avec 3DEXPERIENCE Works, votre processus de développement de produits peut se dérouler n'importe où.

Vous résoudrez des problèmes de conception plus complexes. Vous pourrez accélérer l'innovation ensemble. Connectez SOLIDWORKS à la puissance de la plate-forme 3DEXPERIENCE.

EN SAVOIR PLUS

Trouvez plus de ressources pour le sujet :

Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

SALE: Save 25% on a SOLIDWORKS Simulation Package  LEARN MORE »

Developing Oil and Gas Products faster with Simulia SSE

By adding SIMULIA SSE analysis software to its SOLIDWORKS product development implementation, InFocus Energy Services has acquired the simulation power and efficiency that it needs to consistently develop innovative, effective downhole products for the oil and gas industry more quickly and affordably.

InFocus Energy Services, Inc. is an innovative Canadian company specializing in the development of solution-driven downhole products for the oil and gas industry. Committed to the development of high-performance, innovative drilling  and well-completion products, InFocus is primarily an R&D-based company that licenses its technology and products to strategic partners.

Staying on the cutting edge of the oil and gas industry requires robust design and engineering tools, which is why the company utilizes the integrated SOLIDWORKS® 3D product development suite. According to Founder/Director Allan Pearson, InFocus has utilized SOLIDWORKS tools from the start because the integrated solutions provide the power, agility, and flexibility that the company needs to consistently develop innovative products. “SOLIDWORKS is the core of our engineering group,” Pearson notes. “It’s the basis for everything we do: modeling, simulation, flow analysis, renderings. We rarely have to rely on other products.”

With its concentration on developing oil and gas products that are currently not available anywhere else, InFocus regularly pushes SOLIDWORKS tools, including simulation solutions, to the limit and remains on the lookout for emerging solutions. “We’ve used SOLIDWORKS Simulation Premium software for certain types of analysis, but our work increasingly involves not only geometric and material nonlinearities but also complex contact problems,” explains Mechanical Engineer/Simulation Specialist Peter Kjellbotn.

“We needed more simulation power, as well as a solution that worked smoothly with SOLIDWORKS,” Kjellbotn continues. “When we heard that SOLIDWORKS was launching a new 3DEXPERIENCE® simulation solution that incorporated the SIMULIA® Abaqus solver, we signed up for the Lighthouse Program so we could start using the new SIMULIA Structural Simulation Engineer immediately. As soon as we got our hands on it, we started testing it and benchmarking it against known test results.”

Simulating tricky, complex contact accurately

InFocus first utilized SIMULIA Structural Simulation Engineer on the bearing section of the company’s RE|FLEX Premium HP/HT Drilling Motor. The motor’s bearing section is a proprietary design that was developed to convert extreme loading parameters, including torque of over 30,000 foot-pounds, into efficient drilling action. The company’s initial concept design of the drive system, which utilized traditional ball bearings, resulted in failure during testing when the load crushed the bearings and the faces that load the bearings. SIMULIA Structural Simulation Engineer predicted the failure—with accurate correlation to actual test results—and helped the company develop a better, more innovative design.

SIMULIA drill analysis

SIMULIA drill analysis

“With Structural Simulation Engineer, we were able to evaluate a range of geometric and material options, a process that helped us quickly optimize the tapered, barrel-shaped design of the bearings, and also decide the best high-strength steel for the design” Kjellbotn recalls.

Developing unique, innovative product quickly and affordably

The experience using SIMULIA Structural Simulation Engineer software to develop the bearing section of the RE|FLEX Premium Drilling Motor is representative of the fast, focused development process that InFocus needs to introduce industry innovations in a timely, consistent fashion. “We can develop more products quicker and at lower cost by using Structural Simulation Engineer,” Kjellbotn stresses.

RE|FLEX Premium HP/HT Drilling Motor

RE|FLEX Premium HP/HT Drilling Motor

“For example, on the bearing section of the RE|FLEX Motor, if we had had to physically test all of our design options instead of evaluating them in Structural Simulation Engineer, it would have taken a lot more time and money,” Kjellbotn says. “To do all of those tests on a high-strength drive shaft—at a cost of thousands of dollars per test—would have blown both the schedule and budget. We saved tens of thousands of dollars, months of time, and extra labor costs by using Structural Simulation Engineer. It helped us condense a process that would usually take months into just a few weeks.”

Greater agility and flexibility fuel growth

The implementation of SIMULIA Structural Simulation Engineer provides InFocus with the increased agility and flexibility that it needs to continue to innovate and grow. “Getting the products out and into the market faster is everything to us,” Pearson says. “Structural Simulation Engineer fits into our goal to go from concept to completion in a week. Our business needs change quickly, so having an agile system that gets results that we can trust quickly is extremely important for our continued growth.”

“Because Structural Simulation Engineer is on the 3DEXPERIENCE platform in the cloud and is fully compatible with our SOLIDWORKS modeling data, it provides additional advantages,” Kjellbotn adds. “It’s hardware-independent, freeing up our workstations for other things, and utilizes SOLIDWORKS data, saving time and money because we don’t have to go through time-consuming import/export protocols. The solution also automatically stores data in the cloud and supports collaboration. With Structural Simulation Engineer, we are only limited by our imagination.”

Challenge:

Leverage high-end, nonlinear structural simulation technology to reduce reliance on costly, time-consuming physical testing and develop innovative downhole drilling products more quickly and cost-effectively.

Solution:

Add SIMULIA Structural Simulation Engineer to its SOLIDWORKS implementation to conduct nonlinear structural and complex contact analyses in the cloud to advance and accelerate new product development.

Benefits:

  • Saved tens of thousands of dollars in testing costs
  • Cut months of time and extra labor from development process
  • Realized close correlation between simulation and testing results
  • Freed up computing resources for other functions
  • Saved money spent on unnecessary mold iterations

 

“Because we analyzed our options in software, we didn’t need to physically test all of the possibilities and ran just a few verification tests on the design validated in Structural Simulation Engineer, which confirmed that our simulation results were accurate. This allowed us to optimize critical internal components for cyclic fatigue-loading [bending stress], a common cause of twist-offs downhole, and confirm a higher torque rating and increased durability for our product.”

— Peter Kjellbotn, Mechanical Engineer/Simulation Specialist

More Content

HomeResourcesDeveloping Oil and Gas Products faster with Simulia SSE