Rollback

SOLIDWORKS Feature Freeze Bar Enhanced in SOLIDWORKS 2018

In previous releases of SOLIDWORKS, the “Feature Freeze” bar would experience issues if it encountered a folder where the features were in chronological order. This limitation has been addressed with SOLIDWORKS 2018 so that the Feature Freeze bar can force a temporary “unabsorb” of a sketch or feature so that it can freeze the desired folder. A warning message will prompt you that you are going to perform the temporary separation of the sketch away from it’s feature. The behavior has been aligned with how the Rollback bar functions within the Feature manager design tree. Stay Tuned for additional tips demonstrating what’s new in SOLIDWORKS 2018!

Read More...

SOLIDWORKS PDM Rollback Alternative

SOLIDWORKS PDM Rollback Alternative

We have talked about the SOLIDWORKS PDM Rollback feature before and saw some of the enhancements made to the feature for SOLIDWORKS 2017.  In learning about it we also saw the warning; This function should be used with caution as it permanently deletes file versions.  Personally I’m not a big fan of deleting anything (seriously I’m a data hoarder).  With the following example scenario we’re going to look at a SOLIDWORKS PDM Rollback Alternative method that achieves the same result, without deleting any files. Example scenario Here is my simple part; There are two versions; one with slotted holes (version 2/2) and one without (Version 1/2).  It’s still in the design phase and there’s been a change at a higher level which makes the slotted holes unnecessary, and I need to revert to the previous design (version 1).  Using rollback version 2 will be deleted, but I need to keep it as we…

Read More...

SOLIDWORKS PDM 2017 Rollback Enhanced to include References

SOLIDWORKS PDM Rollback

The Rollback feature in SOLIDWORKS PDM 2017 has been enhanced to allow a parent file to be rolled back with its child references and files indicated as sub-parents (such as drawing files) to a previous version, state and revision.  Previously this command could only be performed on individual files and didn’t include referenced files. NOTE: This function should be used with caution as it permanently deletes file versions.  Permission should be limited to the appropriate personnel only. Navigate to the selected file and Right-click > History; Then Select the previous version you’d like to return to and click Rollback; Warning! This action will PERMANENTLY DELETE ALL VERSIONS that were created after the selected point and cannot be reversed Then check all the boxes for referenced files you’d like to Rollback with the file and select Continue; Now the assembly and it’s references will be returned to the selected previous version, including state and revision; SOLIDWORKS 2017 Resources Access our resources page to get everything you need to learn what’s new in SOLIDWORKS…

Read More...

Alin’s SW2013 Pick of the Day – The Real History = Flat Tree View

SolidWorks’ User Interface is one of the most intuitive in the CAD world and that is probably the reason why SolidWorks is so easy to learn and understand. Personally I like the God-like powers I have in the SolidWorks Universe, especially the time traveling which allows me to change the design intent on the fly by editing or re-ordering the entities in the Feature Tree. That being said, until now, there has been one area where the workflow was not at all intuitive. That was re-ordering sketches consumed by features. New users were the ones suffering the most, especially those who never took SolidWorks Training with Certified SolidWorks Instructors from Javelin. As you know, SolidWorks listens to its users and the new SolidWorks 2013 release provides an…

Read More...

Want to become a SOLIDWORKS Expert?

Take a LIVE Online Training Course from Javelin