SOLIDWORKS 2020 Launch Broadcast, on Tue, Oct 1 at 9:00 AM ET  REGISTER NOW ›

How do I switch to a different user in SOLIDWORKS Manage?

Article by Samir Lohmann created/updated June 26, 2019

When you login to SOLIDWORKS Manage, by default, you will be also be logging into your SOLIDWORKS PDM Vault, if your Manage environment is connected to PDM.

Note in the screenshot below that the option to login only to SOLIDWORKS Manage (and not PDM) is not checked.

SOLIDWORKS Manage login window

Logging into SOLIDWORKS Manage

When you close Manage and try to login as a different user — for instance, if you were logged in as Admin to make changes to the environment and now want to go back to your regular user profile — it is possible that the login window will switch back to the previous user immediately after you enter the new credentials.

If that happens, it means you are still connected to the SOLIDWORKS PDM vault using the first user’s credentials.

To be able to login as a different user, close SOLIDWORKS Manage, then Log Off from PDM, and then login to Manage again, using different credentials:

SOLIDWORKS PDM log off

SOLIDWORKS PDM Log Off

Posts related to 'How do I switch to a different user in SOLIDWORKS Manage?'

Samir Lohmann

Samir Lohmann is a certified SOLIDWORKS PDM specialist. He has worked with different engineering data management systems since 1999 and helped hundreds of companies since then. He started working with SOLIDWORKS PDM in 2008 and is a member of the Javelin team since 2016.

Want to learn SOLIDWORKS?

Take a training course from our team of Certified SOLIDWORKS Experts