SOLIDWORKS 2020 Launch Broadcast, on Tue, Oct 1 at 9:00 AM ET  REGISTER NOW ›

The difference between SOLIDWORKS Save as & Save as Copy Settings

Article by Jamie Hill, CSWE created/updated June 30, 2017

“SOLIDWORKS Save as” saves your already existing part/assembly/drawing, with a new name, and replaces any references made to the original file with that of the new file.

SOLIDWORKS Save As Options

SOLIDWORKS Save As Options

“SOLIDWORKS Save as Copy” saves your already existing part/assembly/drawing, with a new name, but breaks all references to the original part. Essentially making a disassociated file that can be opened and modified with no connection to existing drawings or assemblies that contain the ‘original’ part.

Posts related to 'The difference between SOLIDWORKS Save as & Save as Copy Settings'

Find Related Content by TAG:

Jamie Hill, CSWE

Jamie is a Certified SOLIDWORKS Expert working in the Javelin Oakville, Ontario, Canada office.

Want to learn SOLIDWORKS?

Take a training course from our team of Certified SOLIDWORKS Experts