SOLIDWORKS 2020 Launch Broadcast, on Tue, Oct 1 at 9:00 AM ET  REGISTER NOW ›

SOLIDWORKS 2016 Purge Unused Features

Article by Rod Mackay created/updated November 9, 2015

A new command has been introduced for SOLIDWORKS 2016 that allows you to Purge unused features from a part or assembly document.

For assemblies: any parts that are suppressed in all configurations can be purged, and any unused assembly features, such as mates or reference geometry, can be removed as well.

For parts: any features that are suppressed in all configurations are listed and any sketches and reference geometry which are available to be removed if you are sure they are not used elsewhere.

To purge unused features:

  1. In a part or assembly, at the top of the FeatureManager design tree or the ConfigurationManager, right-click the filename and click Purge Unused Features.
Purge Unused Features Command

Purge Unused Features Command

  1. In the dialog box:
    • In Suppressed in all configurations, select items to delete.
    • In Unused sketches and reference geometry, select items to delete.
Purge Dialog

Purge Unused Features Dialog

  1. Pick OK and the features are removed

NOTE: SOLIDWORKS warns you that any features that are unused in this file may be used in other models and should be deleted with caution.

Learn more about SOLIDWORKS 2016

To learn other what’s new tip and tricks like the SOLIDWORKS 2016 CommandManager Lock you should watch a recording of our recent launch event broadcast.

Posts related to 'SOLIDWORKS 2016 Purge Unused Features'

Find Related Content by TAG:

Rod Mackay

Rod has been using 3D CAD software for over 25 years and has trained thousands of designers to use their CAD systems more effectively. Rod is the Javelin Webmaster and is based in Ottawa, ON., Canada.

Want to learn SOLIDWORKS?

Take a training course from our team of Certified SOLIDWORKS Experts