Skip to content

Revert to a previous file revision with SOLIDWORKS PDM Rollback

Article by Justin Williams created/updated April 28, 2016

Ever made a mistake and transitioned a file to a released state before it was ready?  Not to fear! SOLIDWORKS has you covered; with its SOLIDWORKS PDM Rollback functionality you can return a file to a previous version.

NOTE: This function should be used with caution as it permanently deletes file versions.  Permission should be limited to the appropriate personnel.

Navigate to and select the file you’d like to rollback, and the Right-click > History

Access File History

Access File History

Select the previous version you’d like to return to

Select a previous file version with SOLIDWORKS PDM Rollback

Select a previous file version

Click Rollback

WARNING! This action will permanently delete all versions that were created after the selected point and cannot be reversed

Rollback Warning Message

Rollback Warning Message

Now the file will be returned to it’s previous version, including state and revision:

File has been rolled back

File has been rolled back

Learn more about SOLIDWORKS PDM

Javelin delivers SOLIDWORKS PDM user and administration training courses either in-class, online, or on-site at your location. Learn more about our SOLIDWORKS PDM training »

Posts related to 'Revert to a previous file revision with SOLIDWORKS PDM Rollback'

Justin Williams

Justin Williams is a Data Management Applications Expert based in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

Want to learn SOLIDWORKS?

Take a training course from our team of Certified SOLIDWORKS Experts

Scroll To Top