Skip to content

SOLIDWORKS PDM User and Group Cache Options

Article by Nadeem Akhtar created/updated August 26, 2019

What is the difference in the user and group cache options ‘Clear cache during logout’ and ‘Refresh cache during login’ found in SOLIDWORKS PDM permissions?

SOLIDWORKS PDM Cache Options

SOLIDWORKS PDM Cache Options

At first glance these two options seem to accomplish the same task, but there are major differences between the two.

In ‘Clear cache during logout‘ the system will automatically remove all locally cached files when a user logs out, starts to work offline, or when shutting down the computer. The number of files that will be cleared is totally dependent on how many files the user had performed a ‘get’ on. This is equivalent of select the folder in the Explorer, click on Tools and select “Clear local cache“.

In ‘Refresh cache during login‘ the system will perform an automated ‘Get’ on all files within folders with this setting. This will load the latest version of all files within predetermined folders and also perform a ‘get’ on any files within this folder that have previously cached versions already cached.

Posts related to 'SOLIDWORKS PDM User and Group Cache Options'

Nadeem Akhtar

Want to learn SOLIDWORKS?

Take a training course from our team of Certified SOLIDWORKS Experts

Scroll To Top