How to Share a SOLIDWORKS PDM Vault View

Article by Justin Williams updated March 27, 2020

When creating a new SOLIDWORKS PDM Vault View, we have two options for Attach type;

  • Only for me
  • For all users on this computer
SOLIDWORKS PDM Vault View Setup

SOLIDWORKS PDM Vault View Setup

Or if creating using the SOLIDWORKS PDM Administration Tool;

SOLIDWORKS PDM Administration Tool

SOLIDWORKS PDM Administration Tool

which is essentially the same options, but we can choose either Yes or No.

What is the difference between these two options?

Only for me

If you choose Only for Me or select No when asked “Do you want to make the file vault view accessible for all users on this computer“, the registry keys are written in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER section.  Creating the keys in this location makes the vault view only available to the Windows profile that it was created in.

For all users on this computer

If you choose For all users on this computer or select Yes when asked “Do you want to make the file vault view accessible for all users on this computer“, the registry keys are written in the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE section.  Creating the keys in this location makes the vault view accessible to any Windows profile that logs into this workstation.

….but which option should I choose?

That would depend on your setup.  If you’re using a dedicated machine for your use; you can select For all users on this computer, as there isn’t a risk of users logging into a different Windows profile and gaining access to files that were checked out on the previous profile.  If multiple users consistently access the same workstation, and it’s a requirement for everything to be kept separate; then use the Only for me option, which will make the view unique to that logged-in profile.

Q: Wait; if I create a shared profile and someone else logs into my workstation, does that mean they will inherit all my permissions?

A: No.  User permissions are still controlled via the vault log in.  What could happen is; they will gain write access to files that were checked out on the other profile, or files could appear as private if they were cached on the other profile, and the current user doesn’t have viewing permissions.  When using a “Shared” view, both user accounts are accessing the same folder, therefore the same cached content is being accessed.  If another user is going to access a shared view, a clear of the local cache would help prevent this.

Posts related to 'How to Share a SOLIDWORKS PDM Vault View'

Justin Williams

Justin Williams is a Data Management Applications Expert based in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.