Les experts en technologie de Damon Motorcycles améliorent la sécurité et le confort des cyclistes.

C'est le rêve de tout motocycliste - une moto plus sûre, plus intelligente et réglable qui s'adapte facilement aux conditions routières changeantes, qu'il s'agisse de faire la navette dans les rues de la ville ou de profiter d'une route de campagne sinueuse. Chez Damon Motorcycles, cette moto du futur est déjà une réalité.

Damon a breveté un système d'alerte avancé à 360 degrés amélioré par l'IA pour les motos, appelé COPILOT™, et a conçu et construit la première moto électrique à changement de forme au monde.

Le système de sécurité se verrouille sur des dizaines d'objets autour de la moto et avertit le conducteur des menaces qui se présentent à lui à l'aide de LED et de vibrations dans le guidon. Les capteurs intégrés de détection des collisions recueillent également des données sur le conducteur, le trafic et le véhicule et envoient ces informations au nuage. Cela signifie que le système de Damon apprend de chaque motard et de chaque situation.

Le système d'ergonomie à réglage électronique propre au design Damon s'appelle SHIFT™ et se compose de quatre points autoréglables : selle, guidon, repose-pieds et pare-brise. De façon incroyable, le vélo passe de la position sport à la position touring en passant par la position verticale/urbaine.

Damon Motorcycles - Vélo Halo dans SOLIDWORKS

Damon Motorcycles - Vélo Halo conçu en SOLIDWORKS

Relever les défis de la conception à l'aide de SOLIDWORKS

Les forces de Damon sont ancrées dans la technologie, mais c'est à l'équipe d'ingénierie mécanique que revient le mérite de la construction de leur vélo Halo de démonstration.

Ils ont utilisé une combinaison de balayage laser, du logiciel de conception 3D SOLIDWORKS et de l'impression 3D pour créer les composants uniques et délicats qui permettraient à la moto de se transformer.

Raymond Leung, responsable de la conception des produits, a déclaré qu'un vélo comme le Halo n'avait jamais été construit auparavant et que c'était un travail difficile.

"Nous devions construire un prototype sûr et montable qui aurait non seulement une apparence agréable mais aussi des caractéristiques qui se transforment. Les pièces doivent se transformer en toute sécurité et en douceur, sans interférence."

Raymond a fait en sorte que les caractéristiques de base d'une moto soient scannées au laser, puis a importé les données scannées dans SOLIDWORKS. L'ingénierie inverse lui a fourni la base pour créer l'apparence nécessaire, ainsi que pour concevoir les pièces mécaniques.

Raymond a déclaré qu'il faisait confiance à SOLIDWORKS pour permettre à plusieurs concepteurs et ingénieurs de travailler sur un seul fichier, et pour bien gérer les grands assemblages. Les membres de son équipe doivent souvent travailler en parallèle et ses modèles comptent plus de 500 composants. Ces modèles s'assemblent pour créer l'assemblage principal.

Les conseils sur le travail avec de grands assemblages sont l'une des façons dont Raymond a reçu l'aide de Javelin Technologies. Il utilise SOLIDWORKS depuis de nombreuses années, mais s'appuie occasionnellement sur l'expertise approfondie de Javelin.

"Javelin me répond immédiatement avec des conseils sur la façon de résoudre les problèmes que je rencontre. Il est pratique pour moi de leur rendre visite en personne dans le centre-ville de Vancouver pour leur montrer un problème et obtenir une aide rapide. Ils ont également une expertise dans le travail avec des données numérisées et dans l'impression 3D, ils apportent donc beaucoup à nos conversations."

Ensuite, Raymond étudiera SOLIDWORKS Simulation pour améliorer sa capacité à tester virtuellement les performances des pièces, ainsi que des solutions pour améliorer le stockage des données et la gestion de la chaîne logistique. Damon utilisera également SOLIDWORKS pour concevoir la prochaine génération de système ergonomique, qui s'adaptera aux caractéristiques uniques de chaque pilote pour un maximum de personnalisation et de confort.

Changer le secteur et l'expérience des cyclistes

Amber Spencer, responsable du marketing produit, a déclaré que l'équipe de Damon était fière des progrès réalisés à ce jour.

"Nous avons fait tellement de choses en si peu de temps, notamment en emmenant la moto en tournée. Notre fondateur et PDG Jay Giraud a présenté une session TechCrunch et nous avons donné aux médias et aux fabricants de motos la possibilité d'essayer la moto. Tout le monde a été époustouflé. Voir la réaction sur le visage des gens, lorsqu'ils utilisent la moto que nous avons créée, a été très gratifiant."

L'objectif principal de Damon est de provoquer un changement dans l'industrie. Les motos sont souvent considérées comme peu sûres, intimidantes et difficiles à conduire.

"Nous voulons que plus de gens profitent des motos", a déclaré Amber. "Grâce à notre expérience et à notre expertise technologique, nous sommes en mesure d'accroître de façon exponentielle la sécurité et le confort des motocyclistes. À mesure que nous avançons dans l'avenir, nous continuerons à trouver des moyens d'améliorer l'expérience de conduite."

L'avenir de Damon consiste également à trouver de nouveaux investissements et partenaires commerciaux, et à faire connaître ses innovations aux motards. Amber a déclaré que tout motocycliste intéressé peut s'inscrire sur une liste pour tester la moto et donner un feedback essentiel.

"Nous voulons absolument que les gens visitent notre site web et en apprennent davantage sur nous. Et lorsque vous vous inscrirez sur notre liste bêta, vous aurez la possibilité de tester et de précommander la moto Halo."

Pour plus d'informations, veuillez consulter le site web de Damon.

Équipe Damon Motorcycles, Vancouver BC

Équipe Damon Motorcycles, Vancouver BC

Solution en vedette

Logiciel SOLIDWORKS

Les solutions de CAO 3D SOLIDWORKS vous permettent, à vous et à votre équipe, de transformer rapidement de nouvelles idées en produits exceptionnels.

En savoir plus

Skip to content

Technology experts at Damon Motorcycles are driving improvements in rider safety and comfort

It’s the dream of every motorcyclist – a safer, smarter, adjustable bike that easily adapts to changing road conditions, whether commuting on city streets or enjoying a winding country road. At Damon Motorcycles, this bike of the future is already a reality.

Damon has patented a 360-degree AI-enhanced Advanced Warning System for Motorcycles called COPILOT™ and designed and built the world’s first shape-shifting electric motorcycle.

The safety system locks onto dozens of objects around the motorcycle and alerts the rider to oncoming threats using LEDs and vibration in the handlebars. The embedded crash detection sensors also collect rider, traffic, and vehicle data and send that information to the cloud. This means that Damon’s system learns from every rider and every situation.

The electronically adjustable ergonomics system unique to the Damon design is called SHIFT™ and is made up of four auto-adjustable points: seat, handlebars, foot pegs, and windscreen. Incredibly, the bike shifts from sport to touring to upright/city positions.

Damon Motorcycles - Halo Bike in SOLIDWORKS

Damon Motorcycles – Halo Bike designed in SOLIDWORKS

Meeting design challenges using SOLIDWORKS

Damon’s strengths are rooted in technology but their mechanical engineering team gets the credit for building their proof-of-concept Halo bike.

They used a combination of laser scanning, SOLIDWORKS 3D design software, and 3D printing to create the unique and tricky components that would allow the bike to transform.

Product Design Manager Raymond Leung said a bike like the Halo had never been built before and it was challenging work.

“We had to build a safe, ridable prototype that would not only have a pleasing appearance but also features that transform. Parts need to morph safely and smoothly without interference.”

Raymond arranged for the basic features of a motorcycle to be laser scanned, then imported the scanned data into SOLIDWORKS. Reverse engineering gave him the base for creating the necessary appearance, as well as for designing mechanical parts.

Raymond said he trusts SOLIDWORKS to allow for multiple designers and engineers to work on a single file, and to handle large assemblies well. His team members often have to work in parallel and his models have more than 500 components. Those models come together to create the main assembly.

Advice on working with large assemblies is one of the ways Raymond has received help from Javelin Technologies. He has been using SOLIDWORKS for many years but occasionally relies on Javelin’s depth of expertise.

“Javelin gets back to me immediately with advice about how to solve any problem I run into. It’s convenient for me to visit them in person in downtown Vancouver to show them a problem and get timely help. They also have expertise in working with scanned data and in 3D printing so they bring a lot to our conversations.”

Next up, Raymond will be investigating SOLIDWORKS Simulation to enhance his ability to virtually test part performance, as well as solutions to improve data storage and supply chain management. Damon will also use SOLIDWORKS to design the next generation of the ergonomic system – one that conforms to the unique characteristics of an individual rider for maximum customization and comfort.

Changing the industry and rider experience

Head of Product Marketing Amber Spencer said the Damon team is proud of their progress to date.

“We’ve done so much in so little time, including taking the bike on tour. Our founder and CEO Jay Giraud presented a TechCrunch session and we’ve given media and motorcycle manufacturers a chance to try the bike. Everyone has been blown away. Seeing the reaction on people’s faces, when they ride the bike we created, has been very rewarding.”

Damon’s main purpose is to cause a shift in the industry. Motorcycles are often seen as unsafe, intimidating, and hard to ride.

“We want to see more people enjoying motorcycles,” Amber said. “With our background and tech expertise, we’re able to increase a rider’s safety and comfort exponentially. As we move forward into the future, we will continue to find ways to make the riding experience better.”

Damon’s future also includes securing further investment and business partners, and spreading the word about their innovations to individual riders. Amber said any motorcyclist who is interested can get on a list to test ride the bike and give essential feedback.

“We definitely want people to visit our website and learn more about us. And when you put your name on our beta list, you’ll have an opportunity to test ride and pre-order the Halo bike.”

For more information, please visit damonmotorcycles.com.

Damon Motorcycles Team, Vancouver BC

Damon Motorcycles Team, Vancouver BC

Challenge:

Motorcycles are often seen as unsafe, intimidating, and hard to ride. Damon Motorcycles had to build a safe, ridable prototype that would not only have a pleasing appearance but also features that transform. Parts need to morph safely and smoothly without interference.

Solution:

Using a combination of laser scanning, SOLIDWORKS 3D design software, and 3D printing to create the unique and tricky components that would allow the bike to transform.

Benefits:

  • Reverse engineering (3D scanned data imported into SOLIDWORKS) provided the base for creating the necessary appearance, as well as for designing mechanical parts.
  • SOLIDWORKS allows for multiple designers and engineers to work on a single file, and to handle large assemblies well. Team members often have to work in parallel and his models have more than 500 components. Those models come together to create the main assembly.
  • Decreased time to market. Implementing 3D solutions have allowed Damon Motorcycles to go from "design to manufacturing" much faster.
  • Javelin provides local assistance with technical support, advice on working with large assemblies, scanned data and 3D printing.

“We've done so much in so little time. With our background and tech expertise, we’re able to increase a rider’s safety and comfort exponentially. As we move forward into the future, we will continue to find ways to make the riding experience better.”

— Amber Spencer, Head of Product Marketing

More Content

HomeResourcesTechnology experts at Damon Motorcycles are driving improvements in rider safety and comfort
Scroll To Top